Anyone Pay Hourly + Bonus (pay for performance)? - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 10-08-2013, 12:25 PM Thread Starter

Anyone Pay Hourly + Bonus (pay for performance)?

I'm trying to wrap my head around the logistics of creating a pay-for-performance workplace with my residential cleaning business. I am just beginning to hire, so there's no transition away from a "traditional" model to deal with.
I'd like to do something along the lines of paying around $8-9/hr then have about $3/hr in bonus for variables such as:
work attendance (on-time, not calling in on short notice, etc)
following policy (dress code, customer service expectations, etc)
work quality (based on inspection, customer feedback, etc)

for infractions of failures, there would be dings against the bonus (varying amounts). If there are no infractions, they are eligible for the full bonus.

The bonus would be reset every several pay periods (I haven't decided yet...every 4 weeks, 6 weeks)

My concerns about this are the tedious nature of keeping up with it in terms of payroll. I want to have some sort of merit based pay, but I don't know how this plays out in the real world.
Feedback?
And I'm open to other ideas on merit based pay, too.
thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 10-09-2013, 02:58 PM

I like this idea and may apply something like it to my own business. Thanks
post #3 of Old 10-09-2013, 05:52 PM

You said pay for performance, so I am assuming that you received that from Dave Ramsey. If so, I completely agree with your idea and that is how we run our business.

I love your idea, however I think you need to tweak it.

Some background on my business on the topics you outlined so that it will help you (not to brag, that is not my intention).

Work attendance - we have zero problem with no shows and call offs. And when I mean zero, I mean in the 6 years of our business it has never happened.

Following policy - Never been a problem