Best way to get up and running - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 08-11-2014, 09:44 AM Thread Starter

Best way to get up and running

Hi everyone, I am a custodian by trade at a college university and have been for over seven years. I have done just about all types of commercial cleaning there is. I would like to start a small cleaning service on the side cleaning a couple offices just to supplement my current income. I would like some advice on how to get started, advertising, what to charge etc. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 08-11-2014, 08:55 PM Thread Starter

Anybody??
post #3 of Old 09-12-2014, 09:42 AM

To get started, I would look into getting a business license. For rates, try calling the local competition to see what they would charge. Or ask some local business owners what they are paying now for custodial cleaning. If that doesn't work, then you could search online for what others are charging. I'm doing residential cleaning.

You can advertise for free on craigslist in my area. Another option is passing out flyers for areas you'd like to work in, or direct mail, by mailing postcards or letters.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of Old 09-15-2014, 05:04 AM

How competitive is corporate cleaning in California?
post #5 of Old 09-16-2014, 09:21 AM

Call around to competitors to get an idea of the market price in your area. Set up a website yourself to get started, and put advertising money into door hangers, SEO/internet marketing, and yard signs. Start with cheap used equipment off craigslist.
post #6 of Old 10-10-2014, 05:48 AM