Making The Transition To Get Out of Cleaning - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 09-20-2016, 09:37 PM Thread Starter

Making The Transition To Get Out of Cleaning

Hey all! I'm pretty new to this forum, posted my intro earlier.

Long story short, I'd love to talk about making the transition from solo cleaner to business owner (i.e. hiring employees to do all the labor work). I've been cleaning for over six years by myself, but repetitive injuries to my wrists have forced me to make this transition.

It isn't easy for sure, and it would be great to hear others that have made that transition, and any tips?

Also, I've bid low for many years, and now starting to charge market price and definitely finding it difficult to get leads and customers. I know I have a lot of work to do with SEO, and just throwing up a Craigslist ad anymore like I used to do and filling up my schedule just doesn't cut it (I don't get phone calls anymore strangely enough even though my branding and marketing looks better, at least to myself).

Any tips would be appreciated, or just your stories! Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 09-21-2016, 12:19 PM

Smile

Hi juniper green clean
The easiest way to make the transition from cleaner to owner is to have written processes that you can teach to employees. Hire excellent people and train them to do your processes. Pick a last work date and don't ever clean again.

The second part of your question depends on your company. To get more qualified customers, just put the right message in front of the right customer with a clear call to action.

It works best with a narrow niche. Your niche should solve a problem for your target customer.