New to business but not commerical cleaning. - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 07-14-2016, 08:48 PM Thread Starter

Question New to business but not commerical cleaning.

I have some experience in cleaning commercial accounts with some of the bigger names in my area. I do not have any experience in running a business or being self-employed.

I know a website would help but I want to do this for a few office accounts. I do not want to grow beyond 2 to 3 accounts with this business and I am doing it on the cheap. I want to charge a flat rate a night. I have heard many times from other business owners that word of mouth is the best way to advertise and other forms of advertising is has a poor ROI, if any. Facebook might be good and all, but I can't use them because they believe my name is fake. I also read online that alot of businesses are leaving it because it isn't doing anything for them.

I'm doing this for a little extra income and to learn how running a business works. I'll be doing everything myself. No plan. Just pick up and go for it.

I heard from my current employer that removing gum off commercial plaza sidewalks would pay more then cleaning toilets. Is this true? If so, could someone please help chime in on this? Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 07-18-2016, 06:25 PM

Pick a direction

I think the first thing you need to do is pick one direction and go that way full force. I wouldn't go after commercial accounts until you get your feet wet with something smaller like a house or apartment.

Make sure to do your research. If cleaning gum sounds interesting then check out the price of the equipment needed. Make sure you know what the realistic overhead will be before you get into one thing or another. There is alot of money to be made but at start up you will incur costs you never thought of before.