Quick Question About Piece of Business - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 05-04-2018, 11:28 PM Thread Starter

Quick Question About Piece of Business

I'm a new business owner in this industry. Hello there.

I have a question. It seems as if there is such a thing as cleaning certifications. I was looking through a site and continually stumbled upon one called IJCSA (International Janitorial Cleaning Services Association). They stated that with membership, certifications and courses are free. So I decided to sign up since they seem to pop up anytime I search anything about certifications. My questions are..

1. Has anyone used this company before for certifications?
2. If someone has, can anyone explain to me why you pay for membership then also have to pay for the certificate even though it clearly states it's included with the membership?
3. Are certifications even necessary?

Thanks for any help with this matter. It's deeply appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 05-06-2018, 05:34 PM

Until and unless janitorial/ residential businesses and their employees are required by state law or mandate to be certified it's nothing more than marketing and a way for the organization to make money. Do your research and determine if certification has any benefits to your business. From my standpoint as a residential business owner the certifications that are offered by different associations for residential cleaning are useless, just my opinion.
post #3 of Old 05-07-2018, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

Thank you for the info. I truly appreciate it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of Old 05-07-2018, 03:40 PM

jbates8989
Thank you for your question. I am not familiar with IJCSA. I went thru Betco.com online training which was free at that time, but may cost $ now.