Just started cleaning office and would like some tips - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 06-25-2012, 11:43 AM Thread Starter

Just started cleaning office and would like some tips

Hello I just started cleaning a smallish office building and would like some tips on cleaning. I was just hired and have to do the whole building every weekday. Some quick questions:

When would I empty the small office garbage bins? Sometimes there's only a coffee cup and I replace the whole bag, but this seems pointless to me and I feel like I can just dump the cup in a big garbage bag and leave the bag in the bin alone. But what if there's gum or only a banana peel in a bag? Should I change it then?

I spray disinfectant on the toilet seat/handle and wipe it with a rag. When would I throw the rag out, because they seem to get dirty really quick.

I'm just a beginner so tips are greatly appreciated. It takes me about 3 hours to clean the building a day.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 06-25-2012, 12:37 PM

Answers to your questions

I would honestly have to say that when you are there to empty garbage bins you empty all the ones that have garbage in them, change the bag IF it has stains from the coffee cup of gum is stuck to it. But just curious, you said you just got started cleaning this office and you're doing it on a daily weekday, how much did you charge them?
post #3 of Old 06-26-2012, 01:38 PM

Answer

If a trash can has any food or liquid container (even only one) change the bag as any remnants may start to stink quickly. If the trash can has only paper, dump the paper into a larger bag and leave the liner alone if it is clean. When a restroom rag is dirty, CHANGE IT! Restrooms need to be as sanitary as possible.

By the way, how big is the building (square feet)?

OSA Janitorial Services
Phoenix, AZ
602-451-9322
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of Old 06-26-2012, 04:55 PM Thread Starter

Quote: