Newbe - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 08-15-2015, 11:04 PM Thread Starter

Newbe

Hello, I am a social worker and a single mom. I took on a house cleaning contractor position to supplement my income. I've never done this before. I have my first cleaning job tomorrow and its a 5 hour job. I'm really nervous!! The customer said she wants me to focus on window seals, ceiling fans, dusting, vacuuming, and mopping. How is that going to take 5 hours? Its a 4 BDRM 3 bath house. Customer is also going to be home. Agency charges and pays by the hour. I like it because I can choose which jobs I want based on my schedule. I work my social work job M-F. I did book some cleanings during the evening during the week.
Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 08-16-2015, 01:06 AM

Well, the red flags for me are:

How does anyone know how long it will take YOU to clean?

How does anyone know ahead if time it will take anyone 5 hours?

How are you a sub contractor if they are telling you how long it will take to clean?

How are you a sub contractor if they pay you by the hour?

My suggestion to you is to go to IRS.gov and read what a sub contractor is. There are high profile companies out there right now that are about to be in DEEP **** with the IRS because of what they are doing.

Here is how you are a sub contractor.... basically for YOU to be your OWN business and are paid per job and no one tells you how to do things. Are you a legal business? If the answer is no, then you are an employee and they MUST take out the normal taxes just as your day job does. Don't get yourself in a bind working for these idiots.
post #3 of Old 08-16-2015, 04:01 AM Thread Starter