Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum banner
14K views 35 replies 27 participants last post by  Herthould 
#1 ·
Hello all! I am new to the cleaning business (like, one week new) and am, like most, looking for ways to attract clients. I am aware that word of mouth is key in this business and am thankful for that. My first client was a result of a friend's recommendation. That same friend also informed me that said client is planning to refer me to another friend upon completion of first cleaning, which is this Thursday. All of that being said, marketing the business still needs to be done if I want to be successful I suppose. So, here is what I have done so far:

- Created email for business
- signed up on care.com and angie's list
- Created a flier to hang in businesses
- Created business cards to hand out
- Created a door hanger to distribute (pretty cute if I do say so myself)

Now... I need your help. Where are the most effective places to hang fliers? Do I shoot for high end or middle class neighborhoods to distribute door hangers? Should I offer a discount for referring someone or for first time cleaning with contract?

Any advise is much appreciated!

See less See more
#3 ·
Happyhousecleaning,

I will agree with Ty, online marketing via Google AdWords is the benchmark for advertisers worldwide. It is not easy, but it is rewarding and the ROI (return on investment) is the best that we have seen after dabbling in door hangers, business cards, postcards, brochures, BBB memberships, Angies List, etc.

My advice, get yourself a website, create some landing pages and get some AdWords campaigns linked to those pages. Keep an eye on your budget and on the conversions (number of forms submitted/orders placed, etc). A book that I always have close is "Ultimate Guide to Google Adwords" by Perry Marshall. Easy to read, valuable advice for marketing through Google AdWords.