Cement Floor Painting Suggestions - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 01-11-2010, 10:09 AM Thread Starter

Question Cement Floor Painting Suggestions

I have a cement floor that I was am trying to paint but the paint is not sticking. The floor is in an outside screen enclosed porch, so it is exposed to hot and cold temperatures. I buffed the floor and mopped it afterwards. I let the floor dry before I started painting. I also added paint hardner into my paint to help the paint have a more solid finish. The paint is an oil based paint. I think about the only thing I haven't tried is etching the floor. Does anyone have any suggestions of what else I can do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 09-27-2010, 03:08 AM

Cement Floor Painting Suggestions

Here is the process of cement painting, this may be help you to paint your concrete floor.

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/paint...ete-floor.html

http://www.concretenetwork.com/concrete/interiorfloors/
post #3 of Old 09-29-2010, 11:44 AM

I think that the problem you're having may be related to the fact that you're using an oil based paint as they don't adhere very well to cement.
Have you tried using a heavy duty epoxy garage paint like Epoxy Shield, Armor Clad, or Rustoleum Concrete Saver? I'd probably still recommend etching before applying the paint though if you really want to make sure that it sticks well- especially if the area is exposed to outdoor elements/temperatures.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of Old 03-06-2011, 03:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleaningman View Post