Equipment Recommendations - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 09-04-2010, 12:26 PM Thread Starter

Equipment Recommendations

Hello, I am just starting out and looking at buffers, scrubbers, etc. Is one manufacturer better than the other? So far I have looked at Clarke, Viper, Minuteman. I also came across a site called CleanFreak that has scrubbers, etc. listed but it looks like its their own brand, but the prices are decent. Just looking for some direction so I dont buy something I'm going to end up regretting. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 09-29-2010, 12:01 PM

Re:floor machines

Even though price may be a primary consideration for which floor buffing machine you choose, don't let it be your only consideration.

First off consider what your floor cleaning needs are. Do you have both carpeting and hard floor surfaces to clean? Or just one or the other? How much floor area do you have to handle? How quickly are you expected to get a particular floor cleaning job done? Do you have to do floor polishing or burnishing jobs in addition to scrubbing? How about floor stripping-- getting that old floor finish off before restoring a floor to its original shine?

If you have both carpeting and hard floor surfaces to scrub then a dual speed floor machine might be your best bet. The lower speeds can be used for both carpet bonneting and hard floor scrubbing and stripping. And the higher speeds can be used for light buffing of hard floors (but not serious buffing jobs).

If you have a lot of hard floor surface area, like commercially tiled floors in a grocery store, mall, or aircraft hangar, then 2 separate machines might be your best investment. One low speed floor machine can be used for scrubbing, and the other high speed burnisher can be used for the polishing.