NEW/Questions on Getting Biz, Tell Me Your Story! - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 07-17-2007, 11:08 AM Thread Starter

Question NEW/Questions on Getting Biz, Tell Me Your Story!

Hi -- I am Brand New to the cleaning business. Just joined forum today. I am targeting larger homes 4,000 Sq. feet and up. My only method for generating new business has been hand-delivering fliers to mailboxes. I plan to get car magnets and such but don't have the budget yet.

I delivered about 650 so far. These are very upscale subdivisions where I figure people need and can afford my services. Got two calls, one in which I did a "home cleaning evaluation." I toured the home, got to know the homeowner and her expectations. For 7500 sq. ft. I quoted $300 that is for 6 baths and 5 bedrooms... Gave her a courtesy call back (left voice mail). Haven't heard from her yet. Got another call from a realtor to clean an 1100 sq. ft. vacant newly carpeted/painted home for $75. After much research I have decided to generally speaking charge .07-cents/square foot.

I am curious to hear how it was when you started your business. I am disappointed I have not received more calls. I am REALLY disappointed that I haven't had one paying job. Please help by telling how you got your fist clients and what happened from there. I need HOPE! I desperately need the income. Wondering if I am on the right track.

Thanks! J.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 07-18-2007, 12:21 AM

Hello J

Welcome to cleaningtalk and to the cleaning industry. Unfortunately your story is not too uncommon now a days. Don't get me wrong, work can be found, just not as readily as it once was since more and more people are entering into the field daily.

Back in the day you could easily get a 10% or higher return for every 100 fliers placed on prospective clients doors, but today the rate is closer to 0.5% for every couple of hundred fliers