Newbie Here - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 02-25-2017, 12:18 PM Thread Starter

Newbie Here

Hi everyone,
I started visiting here maybe a month ago. I have been cleaning houses for almost 3 years now. I am an RN of many years, but here in Florida, nurses are paid poorly and treated even worse. After I had a major accident (not on the job-) I recovered and decided to put another talent to work: cleaning. My first year was rocky, because I didnt know what I was doing yet. But I kept on going. I happen to really like cats, so began mentioning this in my public advertising (on Thumbtack and Care.com). Soon, I began getting calls for cleaning by cat owners! Cat owners know that some house cleaners are grossed out by cat throw up, kitty litter, hair, etc. They knew I wouldnt be so they hired me. I also do some pet sitting, and almost all of my "cat clients" started having me cat sit when they went away! I get paid the same amount for both jobs, so itr has worked out well for me.
I love my work, and really like my clients. Over time, I have learned that if I dont especially like a new client, it probably wont work out in the long run. I have learned to trust my instincts on this, and have found polite ways to back out of a job if I feel that way about someone new.
I think I have become successful because I am sort of a perfectionist. And I am a very hard worked. The two things combine well in cleaning, and my customers appreciate what I do.
Glad to have found this site.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 03-14-2017, 12:34 AM

Advertise pets in your marketing materials!
post #3 of Old 03-14-2017, 05:49 PM Thread Starter