Newbie Here.. Needs advice to start biz - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 11-12-2008, 03:47 PM Thread Starter

Newbie Here.. Needs advice to start biz

Hello Everyone,
I just joined the forum. I just graduated from College this March with Bachelors in Business and cannot seem to find a job to save my life!!!. My student loans are over $80K and due SOON . I have very limited funds and I need some help and advice with this business. I am torn between residential and commerical.

1. What area ( res. or commercial) do you think is "faster"" to break into.???
2. Also I was thinking of specializing as a Green cleaning service. can you recommend any great products that would work well. If you think otherwise... please inform me.
3. Is this a "good" biz to start during a recession???
4. I would LOVE marketing tips/ tactics from all you seasoned pros so that I can be more successful.

I would love to be encouraged.. how quickly did you all get your first client (res or comercial) when you first started. BTW: I live in Texas.
Thanks for your replies. Have a great day!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 11-14-2008, 03:20 PM

I would suggest getting into commercial cleaning. My experience is that you can command a higher price. You can also get a lot of business from just one client. (Some offices get cleaned daily.) I haven't offered the green products, and I don't feel like I have ever lost any business because of it. I think it is a good idea to try it though. Good Luck!

The Book That Launched My Cleaning Business http://starting-an-office-cleaning-c....blogspot.com/
post #3 of Old 11-15-2008, 10:08 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for your reply. I truly appreciate the insight. If you have more to share, please do!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of Old 11-15-2008, 07:39 PM