New to the business - Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum

post #1 of Old 09-27-2006, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

Question New to the business

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the business and I would like to know how much would you charge for cleaning a house. Would you charge by the room or by the sq ft of the room or do you just charge by the hour? Also what kind of products would you use to clean. The reason I'm asking these questions is because I don't want to over charge any of my clients and then I just wind up losing a customer cause of my over charging. I was thinking that I would charge $5.00 per window depending on the height of the window and $15.00 per room and if they wanted anything extra like changing linens, cleaning out the fridge I would just charge them $5.00 extra. If this is something someone would approve of let me know but if not I'm willing to take advice from anyone.

Thanks,
Jen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of Old 09-27-2006, 06:08 PM

Jen

Beware of the pitfall of pricing generically. Not all rooms take the same amount of time to clean. The best thing to do is to sit down and consider what all your expenses are & what your intended profit margin would be. Ask yourself where you plan to be next year and in 5 years.

Set your prices so that you can achieve all of these goals plus!

I say plus because if your plans are to have employees in the future or to make some major equipment purchases, you need to have your costs in line with preparing for those factors as well as just making a living today.
post #3 of Old 09-27-2006, 06:53 PM

First thing I would do is figure out what type of cleaning service do you want to do, for us we only do Maintenance cleaning for our cleints, no windows, and only outside of appliances.

Then I would find out what the going rate is in your area, the national avg is between 20- 40 an hour but,we charge by the job.......

After that, listen to what T says .......
Sponsored Links