Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have six accounts that I share with a partner M-F. I'm getting paid for general cleaning- Trash disposal, dusting, vacuuming, mopping, etc. In the last 2 weeks, we have had to detail 2 buildings without any extra pay.

BTW, I've crunched the numbers, and my pay is around $6.50 to $7.50 per hour (driving 50 miles+ per night and no gas allowance.) Like I said, I see nothing extra from the detailing jobs. Am I getting ripped off? Please be honest with me. I'm new to the business.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Yes, you are being taken advantage of. The real question however is "Who is taking advantage?" Is it the Customer taking advantage of your "newness" or is your partner only paying you a cheap wage?

My employees make $12.50/hr. We charge proper rates from our clients. Sounds like you are either getting shaft from partner or not charging enough from clients. Industry standard is $25-$45/man hour.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I should have said that I share the routes with another employee and we split the buildings. We have the same boss, who estimates the jobs and sets the pricing.

As for why we are not being paid for detailing as opposed to maintenance cleaning, I have no idea. I asked the girl I work if we would see any extra money and she kind of laughed and said we would never see that.

When we were doing one of the detail jobs at a financial institution, after an upholstery company came in and wrecked the place, our boss was there with us, not working, but kissing the behind of the institution's ops manager, if that might provide any insight.

Thank you, t.peterson and FCPWLLC for your replies, and I would appreciate anything more you folks might have to say. Take care.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·