Cleaning Talk - Professional Cleaning and Restoration Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm a freshman college student and I just moved into my new student home while being absolutely shocked by the horrible state of the bathroom. I'd love to deep clean it as soon as possible, although I'm not sure what should I do with the hard mold on the bathroom floor and tiles which is almost black and looks very nasty. I feel like basic toilet cleaner won't do the job as easily. Just look at the picture:

Any tips how to save this situation, please?
Thanks a lot in advance!

Yours truly,

Desperate student

·
Registered
34 Posts
That definitely doesn't look good. This may or may not be something you can scrub from the surface.

Things to try that help kill mold are:

-White distilled vinegar and baking soda solution
OR
-3% hydrogen peroxide and water solution (be sure the hydrogen peroxide is 3% !)
OR
-1C Borax and 1C water solution

Some solutions people that deal with mold may use: Vital Oxide, Mold Control, or Biocide premade solutions.

Restorox is another that contains hydrogen peroxide and may help. This cleaner may not be suitable for areas with poor ventilation (make sure to have adequate ventilation with cleaners).

Moving forward, spray your solution on it and get an electric scrub brush or an abrasive sponge (do a spot test to be sure you don't damage the tiles). You may need to spray and let sit a few times before scrubbing.

Another thing is from the picture this looks like it could be water damage. I wouldn't be surprised if they had a toilet overflow or something and it was left sitting like that for a while.